Harold / Indian Rocks Beach

Available for adoption

VIPRescue.org

Dog Name: Harold

DOB: 12/12/2017

Breed: Shih tzu/mini poodle mix

Weight : 22 lbs current weight – Needs to a lose a few ;-(

Gender: Male

House trained: Yes

Location: Indian Rocks Beach, Fl

Gets along with cats: No

Gets along with Dogs : Yes

NO KIDS

Fenced Yard: REQUIRED – Fenced yard attached to your home.

Hi friends, my name is Harold! I’m a 6 year old, a shih tzu/mini poodle mix (a Shi-poo) who weighs about 22lbs(needs to lose a few). Do you remember me? I was adopted about a month ago and we tried to adjust to each other, but I learned that I need a home with only one human, I bond with one person and only one person. Life is a journey and we learned this about me. I’m all good now, and, well, I’m baaaaaaaack! And looking for my one and only human.

My favorite things are grassy backyards, car rides, going new places, walking the neighborhood on my leash, and of course, companionship and attention. I am a playful, friendly and affectionate guy. Did I mention super handsome too? Even got myself a new haircut, a big thank you to the nice folks at Pampered Paws Grooming Salon who volunteered their time to get me cleaned up! I sure feel better without all that long hot hair!! I will require regularly scheduled grooming appointments, so please consider the extra cost of that prior to submitting your application. If you cannot afford and are not willing to have me professionally groomed on a regular basis, like every 8-10 weeks, I am not the dog for you. Please consider one of my fellow short haired, non grooming required rescue friends instead.

I like and get along great with other friendly dogs, although I may bark when we first meet. Don’t take it personally, I’m just saying “hi, new friend.” Foster mom has introduced me to many dogs (and humans) and I love most everyone that respects my space, both in rest and play mode. (that’s a big thing with me) I share beds, toys and water bowls nicely too. Food, not so much – that’s my kibble! Paws of fellow canines!!

I would do well in a home with an already established small to medium size (under 35 lbs), friendly and very well socialized dog. I could also be an only dog, so long as I am your primary significant other. I do not want to be at home by myself for extended hours so if you work full time outside of the home, I’m really not the guy for you. I bond with one person and one person only in the home. If you are not a single human home I am not the guy for you.

Keep me on regular potty schedule and I’m pretty much housebroken. Like I said above, you need to be home to play with me and let me out to potty, not working all the time. I like routines and schedules, I’ll even let you know if you’re running late on my meal times. How do I do that? Foster mom calls it barking, but I’m really just talking to her about my wants and needs. I also “talk” to the delivery people, the garbage truck, people and things like big birds that appear outside the windows, and the doorbell, for example. I’m kind of like a little security alarm, which foster mom says can be a good thing, but if you or your environment is sensitive to canine talking (barking), I am not the doggie for you.

Foster mom says I am excellent on leash. She often walks me with 1-2 of my other dog friends and I don’t mind matching my pace with others. I love playing outside! I will need a single family adult only home with a secured fenced in yard for me to run, play and sniff. Sorry folks, no condos, townhomes, villas or rentals. This is not negotiable, and I sure hope you understand, but it’s what’s best for me.

Truth be told, I am not a big fan of those little humans you people call kids. If you have young children in your home or children that visit your home, I am not the dog for you. Please take note of this prior to submitting your Application because foster mom says this is not negotiable.

Foster mom does not have cats, but she’s got a little tiny dog that I am very friendly with and do not chase, but I really would prefer a “feline free” home, ok? Now, don’t I sound like the perfect pup? I think I am, but I do have some “quirks” that foster Mom will discuss with only the approved applicants. I will say that I MUST have an experienced dog owner, I’m not a 1st time pet for sure. You MUST be very active to keep up with all my playful energy, so if you’re a young, experienced active human, I might just be for you! Oh, another thingy, a home visit will be required for an approved applicant, and you must live within 1 hour of the St Petersburg/Clearwater area.

I am up to date on my vaccinations, neutered, microchipped, a fresh dental and on flea and heartworm prevention.

I’m ready to move along to my forever home, but foster mom is happy to have me for as long as it takes to find my perfect match, I’m not the easiest pupper to own due to my “quirks”. After reading and considering all of the above, if you think you might be the person for me, please submit your application for review at VIPRescue.org

ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS FOR HAROLD: You must be a permanent resident of FL, and be a very experienced dog owner, and as cute as he is, he’s not the doggie for a first time pet owner due to his “little quirkiness”. Harold does require a 6-foot fenced yard in a single family home. To qualify for adoption, all of the pets in your home must be spayed or neutered, they must be current on vaccines, preventatives, and have received consistent veterinary care. Harold could typically live 12-15 years, so keep his lifespan in mind if you are thinking of adopting him. Your age should be appropriate for his estimated lifespan. Adoption Donation: $350

Direct link: https://viprescue.org/harold-indian-rock-beach/

Application form: https://viprescue.org/application-to-adopt