ADOPT SOLO / Largo, FL

ADOPT SOLO / Largo, Florida

www.viprescue.org

DOB: estimate 1-2 yrs old Breed:

Terrier / Rat Terrier Mix

Weight 7lbs

Gender: Male

House Trained: Working on it

Gets along with cats: Unknown

Gets along with dogs:

Yes Fence in Yard Required.

Hi everyone! My name is Solo, a 7 pound whirlwind of activity. I’m fully grown, but still have tons of puppy energy. I was originally found as a stray with no ID and no one came forward to claim me 🙁 but thankfully I got to come to VIP Rescue and now have an amazing foster home and the opportunity to find my forever home!

As I said, I have a lot of energy. I want to investigate everything, and I’ll follow you wherever you go. I love playing with my foster “sister” and going with her to “investigate” the backyard. Once I’m done playing, I want to curl up on my humans lap and nap, as I LOVE to snuggle. I’m still trying to learn this housebreaking thing, kinda like a work in progress you might say as I’m still working on inside vs. outside behavior, and my foster siblings are helping me with that! I love going for walks! I get so excited, I spin in circles and try to run, run, run! Sometimes I try to run so fast, I end up hopping like a kangaroo to try to go, go, go. I’ll definitely need to wear a very secure harness to go on walks, just because I love to run! You’ll have to protect me from myself, I don’t want to be a street dog again, that’s no life for a great fella like me! I really need a fenced in backyard and maybe a home with another small, high energy dog to play with. I do not like when my foster mom leaves the house, even for a short time. I have to wear belly bands because I get nervous. Even if you let me out before you leave, I can’t help myself. This may improve as I get more confident and secure now that I’m safe. I would not do good with a family who is gone all day, if you work from home or work just a few hours, that should be ok, but if you’re gone all day, I’m definitely not the pup for you. I must have an active energetic family too, cuz, again, I’ve got the most puppy energy Mom has seen in a while! I do NOT like being crated, I cry horribly. Though I sometimes like to take a nap in a crate, I want the door to remain open.

When I first got here, I kept getting an upset tummy. Mom changed my food to a smaller kibble sensitive stomach food and it seemed to help. I gobble down my food and any other food that I can find. (probably cuz I learned to survive on what I could on the streets) With my sensitive stomach, it is best not to give me a broad range of food or allow me to steal others food (I totally will) For now, easy to swallow and easy to digest is best. I love chewing on the bones Mom has all over. However, I want to hoard them, It doesn’t matter how many I have, I want the one the other dogs are chewing on! I will engage in distraction and stealth maneuvers to steal from the dogs and build my hoard. I protect my hoard like Scrooge McDuck protects his gold. Only from other dogs though, Mom can take the bones away from me without any issue, then I sit and wait to steal them back, Ha!

I am neutered, vaccinated, microchipped and am current on heartworm and flea prevention. Do you think I am the dog for you!? If so, please complete an application at VIPRescue.org. I can’t wait to find my “fur”ever home!!

Adoption Requirements: You must be a resident of Fl, live in and own a single family home, and be at least 25+ years old. To qualify for adoption, all of the pets in your home must be spayed or neutered, current on vaccines, preventatives, and have received consistent veterinary care. This breed typically lives 12-15 years, so keep his lifespan in mind if you are thinking of adopting him. Your age should be appropriate for the estimated lifespan. Incomplete applications will be closed.